Skip to content

defining “conservative.”

November 27, 2012

If by conservative, you mean that I am closed-minded, that I do not think for myself, and instead blindly cling to the ideas of those who came before me, without analysis or thought, then no, I am not a conservative.

If by conservative, you mean that I view all change with suspicion and fear, that I shun progress and embrace stagnation, then no, I am not a conservative.

If by conservative, you mean that I wish to deprive others of their God-given rights, that I believe that some men should remain beneath the heels of others, then no, I am not a conservative.

If by conservative, you mean that I despise diversity, that I see being different as a crime, and that I hate anyone who deviates from societal norms, then no, I am not a conservative.

But if by conservative, you mean that I believe that every man should be free to succeed or fail, according to his own ability, diligence and will, without interference or meddling of the State, then yes, I am a conservative.

If by conservative, you mean that I believe in moral absolutes, and that society, the world, and the entire cosmos cannot sustain itself without the existence of certain absolute truths, then yes, I am a conservative.

If by conservative, you mean that I believe in higher powers, beyond the laws and the comprehension of man, and that I will someday have to answer to them, then yes, I am a conservative.

And if by conservative, you mean that I value life, all life, but above all, human life, in all its forms, and I believe that life and liberty are the two most important gifts that society can give its children, then yes, I am proud to say that I am a conservative.

From → Conservatives

Leave a Comment

What do you think?

